5 Languages of Love: Strengthen the Health of Your Closest Relationships

5 Languages of Love: Strengthen the Health of Your Closest Relationships

Feb 11 2022

Valentine’s Day is often thought of as a holiday for grand gestures and gifts. But what if you were to skip the hoopla for something a little more meaningful? Enter the five languages of love.

The five languages of love have been used for over 25 years to help people connect better with their families, friends and partners. The languages take a deep dive into how people feel most loved. They are:

  1. Words of affirmation
  2. Acts of service
  3. Receiving gifts
  4. Quality time
  5. Physical touch

Developed after years of marriage counseling by Gary Chapman, the idea of love languages is supported by psychology. While all of the love languages are important and have value in relationships, knowing the primary love languages of yourself and your closest loved ones can benefit your relationships.

Do you feel loved when you receive an unexpected text or card? Your top love language may be words of affirmation. Do you love when someone gets you a surprise gift, just because they saw it and thought of you? Your top love language may be receiving gifts.

As important as it is to know your own preferred love language, it may be even more important to know that of your closest friends and family members—and spouse or partner if you’re in a romantic relationship.

Once you have a better understanding of how people feel the most loved, your relationships can change for the better, as it takes the burden out of guessing what makes them feel special. For example, if your partner loves quality time, you can try one of these fun ideas to spend time together and make Valentine’s Day about getting out and being active together. Knowing this information also allows you to communicate your needs easily and effectively. Whether you know it or not, your love languages can ease tension and anxiety and, take some of the guess work from relationships.

The five love languages can be used with friendships, which are good for your health in so many ways—from helping you live healthier to keeping your brain sharp and providing mental support.

Use the graphic below to learn more about the love languages and how you can incorporate them into your most important relationships this Valentine’s Day.

This Valentine’s Day, consider skipping the expensive reservations and write your partner or loved one a nice note, or even finish the dishes for them.

If you are interested in learning more about love languages and how you can apply them to your everyday relationships, check out the book The 5 Love Languages by Gary Chapman. Don’t forget to take the quiz as well, so you can start giving people the right kind of love and appreciation they deserve.

Tags: ,